MENU

Friday 05.05.2017 / Saturday 06.05.2017
No. 3 blues CD of the year 2016: His last release is the number three CD of the year 2016, live at Parterre One:

The Albert Castiglia Band (USA)

„Keep Calm and Let Castiglia Handle It“ – this was the inscription on a t-shirt featured by Albert Castiglia on his Facebook page. And you really could not say it any better than this: the way the man celebrates his rough kind of blues-rock has an overwhelming power and energy of his very own.

Castiglia (46), born in New York, raised in Miami, is considered „one of the more exciting talents to emerge pn the blues scene in a while“ (Graham Clarke, Blues Bytes) and „the most inventive and creative songwriter to come into modern blues music in more than a decade“ (Richard Skelly, Asbury Park Press). read more

Or to put it in a slightly cheeky way, using the title of his latest album: this singer and guitarist is a „Big Dog“ indeed, barking louder than ever on this highly praised new record, produced by his good friend Mike Zito 

„When we tour this album“, promises Castiglia, „you can expect a balls to the wall, rockin’ blues show. Expect to get what we’ve always given you: my 100 percent!“ First discovered by legendary Chicago bluesman Junior Wells, who promptly recruited him as his lead guitarist, Albert Castiglia has already performed twice in Basel: with his own band two years ago – and again this past January as a member of blues „supergroup“ The Blues Giants with Mike Zito and Sugaray Rayford. „It may be a bit premature to crown him America’s newest King of the Blues, but there’s little doubt that he at least deserves the title of heir apparent“, so says music critic Lee Zimmerman of "Miami New Times". 

His last CD - Blind Dog - was awarded number three blues CD of the year 2016 amongst 150 other titles.



Albert Castiglia: guitar/vocals
Jimmy Pritchard: bass/vocals
Brian Menendez: drums
Lewis Stephens: keyboards

Special Guest may 6th: Brandon Santini (USA): vocals/harp

Tickets >>

Concert Details:
Friday/Saturday, May, 5/6, 2017, Parterre One, Klybeckstrasse 1, Basel 
Showtime: Friday, 20:30 h / Saturday, 21h
Doors: Friday, 20 h / Saturday, 19 h
Tickets: Friday, CHF 49 (Special price thanks to Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank) / Saturday, CHF 59



Impressions
Related Links


back

BLKB - Groove Now - Unser Bier present

An Evening with US Blues-Rock-Star Mike Zito & Band

Music, Food & Beer

Blues Band of the Year

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

Celebrated US Guitar Sensation

Doyle Bramhall II (USA)

MENU

Freitag 05.05.2017 / Samstag 06.05.2017
Nr. 3 Blues CD des Jahres 2016: Seine letzte Aufnahme ist die drittbeste Blues CD des Jahres 2016, live at Parterre One

Albert Castiglia Band (USA)

„Keep Calm and Let Castiglia Handle It“, stand zu lesen auf einem T-Shirt, das Albert Castiglia mal auf seiner Facebook-Seite abgebildet hat. Und treffender lässt sich gar nicht beschreiben, mit welch umwerfender Dynamik der Mann seinen rauhen Blues-Rock zelebriert. 

Castiglia (46), geboren in New York, aber aufgewachsen in Miami, gilt als „eines der aufregendsten Talente auf der Blues-Szene heute“ (Graham Clarke, Blues Bytes) und „einer der erfindungsreichsten und kreativsten Songschreiber im modernen Blues“ (Richard Skelly, Asbury Park Press). mehr lesen

Oder um es etwas salopp mit dem Titel seines neusten Albums zu sagen: dieser Sänger und Gitarrist ist in der Tat ein „Big Dog“, ein grosser Hund, und sein bereits hoch gelobtes aktuelles Opus, produziert von seinem Freund Mike Zito, lässt ihn so laut und vernehmlich bellen wie noch nie. 

„Wenn wir mit diesem Album auf Tour gehen“, verspricht Castiglia, „dann könnt ihr euch auf eine gnadenlose, rockende Blues-Show gefasst machen. Erwartet das, was ich euch schon immer gegeben habe: meine ganzen 100 Prozent!“ Einst vom legendären Chicago-Bluesmann Junior Wells entdeckt und prompt für dessen eigene Band rekrutiert, ist Albert Castiglia unterdessen bereits zweimal in Basel aufgetreten: auf eigene Rechnung vor genau zwei Jahren – und zuletzt im Januar als Mitglied der Blues Giants mit Mike Zito und Sugaray Rayford. „Es mag verfrüht erscheinen, ihn als Amerikas neusten ‚King of the Blues’ zu krönen, aber es gibt wenig Zweifel, dass er wenigstens den Titel des Kronprinzen verdient“ – sagt der Kritiker Lee Zimmerman von der "Miami New Times". 

Seine letzte CD - Big Dog - wurde von der On-line Plattform Roots Music Report under 150 Titeln als  drittbeste Blues CD des Jahres 2016 prämiert.



Albert Castiglia: guitar/vocals
Jimmy Pritchard: Bass/vocals
Brian Menendez: drums
Lewis Stephens: keyboards


Special Guest am 6.5.: Brandon Santini (USA): vocals/harp



Tickets >>

Konzertangaben:
Freitag/Samstag, 5./6. Mai 2017, Parterre One, Klybeckstrasse 1, Basel
Konzertbeginn: Freitag, 20:30 h / Samstag, 21 h
Türöffnung: Freitag, 20 h / Samstag, 19 h
Preis: Freitag, CHF 49 (Spezialpreis dank der Basellandschaftlichen Kantonalbank) / Samstag, CHF 59 
    

 

Impressionen
Weiterführende Links


Zurück

BLKB - Groove Now - Unser Bier present

An Evening with US Blues-Rock-Star Mike Zito & Band

Music, Food & Beer

Blues Band of the Year

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

Celebrated US Guitar Sensation

Doyle Bramhall II (USA)